On Tuesday May 28th, Maine Governor Janet Mills signed into law “An Act Authorizing Employee Leave,” (“the Act”). This new law will provide eligible employees with the ability to accrue up to 40 hours of paid personal leave per year. Unlike other paid leave laws around the country, Maine’s will be the first to allow the employees to use the paid leave for any purpose, including non-medical or personal reasons.
This new law will be effective on January 1, 2021, and will apply to employers in the state of Maine with more than 10 employees employed for more than 120 days in a calendar year. The rate of accrued time will be: one hour of paid leave (for any purpose) for every 40 hours worked, which will be capped at 40 hours per year. Seasonal employees, as well as employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement will be exempt.
For more information, view the bill, or contact the team at myHRcounsel.
Thank you for your interest in our Employee Handbook+,
however no need to select it as ASK HR and ASK Pro
include a legally drafted handbook and updates throughout the year!
Thank you for selecting ASK HR, our ASK Pro includes ASK HR,
so you’ll only need to select ASK Pro as your service.