California Fast-Food Workers to Receive $20 per Hour

On Thursday September 28th, California Governor Gavin Newsom has signed AB 1228 into law which will see workers at fast-food chains (with 60 or more locations nationwide), receive a minimum wage of at least $20.00 per hour. This will take effect on April 1, 2024. Going beyond 2025, until 2029, a special council will meet to decide on additional wage hikes for eligible employees. The bill originally had a provision that would have made restaurant companies liable for workplace violations committed by their franchisees, but it was removed.

Contact us at myHRcounsel if you have any questions.